2015 Executive Committee

New Elected Officers:

Avanti Bergquist, MD: President Elect. Dr. Bergquist joined WSCCAP last year as the Washington State Medical Association (WSMA) Behavioral Health Work Group Alternate Delegate. She also serves as the Advocacy Liaison and Early Career Psychiatrist Liaison. Dr. Bergquist is an Acting Assistant Professor at the UW and an attending psychiatrist on the Seattle Children’s Hospital  Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine Unit.  She is also a member of the AACAP Inpatient, Residential, and Partial Hospitalization Committee.

Shannon Simmons, MD: Treasurer. Dr. Simmons was elected as Treasurer this year succeeding Dr. Ford’s many years of excellent service in various positions. Dr. Simmons is an attending on the Seattle Children’s Hospital Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine Unit and supervises residents, fellows, medical students as a University of Washington faculty member. She moved to Seattle in 2013 after finishing her training in Chicago in 2013.

Elected and Appointed Members of the WSCCAP Executive Committee:

Kyle Benner, MD: Fellow Representative.  Dr. Benner is a chief resident in the UW Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship program.

David Camenisch, MD: Washington State Medical Association (WSMA) Behavioral Health Work Group Delegate. Dr. Camenisch is part of the Behavioral Health team at the Seattle Children’s Hospital Autism Center.

John Dunne, MD: AACAP Assembly Representative, Program Chair. Dr. Dunne founded WSCCAP in 1979. He was in private practice for over 35 years and now a consultant with the Partnership Access Line (PAL) at Seattle Children’s Hospital. Dr. Dunne is a Co-chair of the AACAP Member Benefits Committee and a member of the Health Information Committee. He has served twice as a member of the Task Force on AACAP’s relationship with PHARMA and has chaired the Task Force on the Catcher in the Rye Awards. He was a recipient of the Catcher in the Rye Award in 1997. 

Elina Durchman, MD: President. Dr. Durchman has been a member of the WSCCAP Executive Committee for 5 years. She works for Ryther and consults for Center for Discovery, a residential eating disorder center for both adults and adolescents.

Zsolt Lorant, MD: AACAP Assembly Representative. Dr. Lorant joined the WSCCAP Executive Committee in 2003 and has held all of its official positions. He serves on AACAP committees every year. Dr. Lorant works for the Everett Clinic and is a co-manager to the Child and Adolescent List-serve of 1100 members.

Julia Murray, MD: Alternate Assembly Representative. Dr. Murray is an active member in the Washington State Psychiatric Association as well as in the Washington State Medical Association. She has a private practice on Queen Ann Hill and sees children, adolescents, and adults.

Alina Schneider, MD: Secretary. Dr. Schneider joined the WSCCAP Executive Committee in 2014. She is in private practice with Interlake Psychiatric Associates and a consultant for Mercer Island Youth and Family Services. She also provides her services at the Harborview Psychiatric Emergency Services.

Madeline Wielgus, BA: Administrative Director. Ms. Wielgus joined WSCCAP in 2014. She is currently pursuing her PhD in Clinical Psychology from Seattle Pacific University and has worked with Marsha Linehan’s lab as a Research Assistant. She also works as a Services Coordinator at Ryther. 


To provide a working body of persons who, by their training, interest, collective experience and research capacity in child and adolescent psychiatry, shall be qualified to study, represent and promote such practices as would contribute to the advancement of all aspects of the mental health of children and adolescents.


Wednesday, August 16th

6:30 PM

Join us for dinner at the Seattle Yacht Club for an opportunity to socialize with your friends and colleagues. This year's meeting will feature Dr. Andres Martins, professor at Yale and Editor of JAACAP, and kick off his Break the Cycle Event. 


  • To constitute a scientific forum representing all the varieties of function within child and adolescent psychiatry (administration, research, training, clinical expertise) for the discussion of subjects related to the emotional needs of children and adolescents.
  • To promote the teaching of child and adolescent psychiatry in our state.
  • To be concerned with research investigation and evaluation in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry.
  • To communicate and collaborate with other professional groups concerned with the health, welfare and education of children and adolescents.
  • To provide liaisons with constituted professional, lay and political organizations at local, state and national levels in areas of our concern.
  • To be available as authorities in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry to local and state community groups (public and private) concerned with health, welfare, and educational services for children and adolescents.